Obtaining a Reciprocal North Dakota Real Estate License

The North Dakota Real Estate Commission has entered into reciprocity with the following states: Georgia, Iowa, and Minnesota.

If you are a resident and current licensee in 1 of these 3 states, are in good license standing in that state and meet the following requirements, it is possible that you qualify for a reciprocal license under the agreement.

To receive a North Dakota broker or salesperson's license, you must be a resident of and have an active broker or salesperson license in your state of residence. Individual states may have additional requirements.

The licensing examination is waived under the reciprocal agreement. The application fee for a North Dakota broker's license is $150 and a salesperson's license is $150. NOTE: the $150 and $8 fees can be submitted together and two separate checks are NOT necessary. Send a completed application for a broker or salesperson license to our office with an $8 credit report fee. A current (within 30 days) original Certificate of Licensure from any state in which you currently have or have had a real estate license must be included with your application.

We will not issue your reciprocal license until proof of errors and omissions insurance has been provided to our office. This can be obtained through RISC group insurance or an insurance carrier of your choice.


If you are a North Dakota licensee seeking a reciprocal license from Georgia, Iowa, or Minnesota you should contact that state for information. You will find links to each state below.

Georgia Real Estate Commission

Iowa Real Estate Commission

Minnesota Department of Commerce



Guidelines for Reciprocity 10-12