Reciprocal Licenses

The North Dakota Real Estate Commission has entered into reciprocity with the following states:
Georgia, Iowa, and Minnesota.

If you are a resident and licensee of 1 of these 3 states, your license is in good standing in that state and you meet the following requirements, it is possible that you qualify for a reciprocal license under the agreement.

To receive a North Dakota broker or salesperson's license, you must be a resident of and have an active broker or salesperson license in your state of residence. Individual states may have additional requirements.

The licensing examination is waived under the reciprocal agreement. Beginning July 1, 2019, the application fee for a North Dakota broker's license is $150 and a salesperson's license is $150. Send a completed application for a broker or salesperson license to our office. A Certificate of Licensure from any state in which you currently have or have had a real estate license must be included with your application.

We will not issue your reciprocal license until proof of errors and omissions insurance has been provided to our office. This can be obtained through RISC group insurance or an insurance carrier of your choice. If you already have insurance, request a Certificate of Coverage form from our office to have your insurance agent verify that you have the required coverage.

Download reciprocal license forms for a corporation .

Download reciprocal license forms for a broker.

Download reciprocal license forms for a salesperson.



Guidelines for Reciprocity 10-12